Comings and Goings


If  you’ve been following my blog, you know that I’ve written a book, Enchanted Island. It’s currently at the printing company and approximately a week away from finally being available. Writing and publishing the book has been one of the best experiences in my life. At the end of 2009, I looked forward to the new year with great anticipation. I knew that 2010 was going to be different in a big way. The first thing I did, was change my disposition to a much more optimistic one. I started believing in myself more, and also began envisioning success. By the time the new year started, I rid myself of toxic things and people. It was quite hard to let go of a tumultuous relationship, which I had  for over 10 years. I did what I had to do, so that I could be focused on what was important. I knew my quest to achieve great things, depended on support of those around me, and not to mention positivity. There was no room for negativity,or gloom and doom personalities. Unfortunately, when I looked around, there was a negativity cloud hanging around. Almost everywhere I turned, there was conflict, emotional upheaval, constant complaining, and it became downright depressing. It was then, I had to make a choice. Either I get sucked into the abyss, or keep forging ahead in pursuit of that brass ring. Slowly I began to block out the noise, by removing myself from the source of negativity. It wasn’t out of  malicious intentions. It was for the sake of my own sanity. I made myself very busy, so as not to get caught up in drama that, was not of my own making. It wasn’t received well, but it had to be done. I got busy with this blog, and other tasks, in an effort to market my book. Through writing this blog, I was able to feel better about my surroundings. The 10 year relationship, that I had walked away from, was plaguing my thoughts. It felt so much better to purge, here. Along the way, to making my dreams come true, there were those that have come. These are the new people, I come across everyday, through networking, and blogging that, have made my life a bit more interesting and exciting. Like-minded individuals with a purpose. It’s what I was in desperate need of, to add to my desire to succeed. As these people come, showing an interest in my work and, me as a person, some have gone. Those who are gone, I believe, served their purpose, as I did for them. The time has come, to forget all those going, and welcome the ones coming.

2 responses to “Comings and Goings

  • grannypants

    Congratulations on your process and your publishing success! There is nothing like getting that first book in your hands. I was able to share that moment with my daughters and grandchildren, who also contributed artwork to my book.

    I look forward to reading it. Please notify me when you have it available.

    Christina
    aka Granny Pants

    • May Torres

      Thank You! You are so right! There’s nothing like getting the first book in your hands. So far I have to proof only, and now await the actual book! It was such a thrill to present the finished work to my teenage daughter. Even though, the book was not bound yet, I gave it to her to read. I was so happy that she read it non-stop until she was done. I think it’s safe to say she enjoyed it! 🙂 Thank you for taking an interest in my book and I will definitely notify you when it’s available. It’s wonderful that your children and grandchildren shared in the joy with you. How cool that, they contributed artwork! I’d very much like to see it!

Leave a Reply

