Interview With May Torres


This was an interview conducted a couple of months ago. Thought I’d share it here

Gearing up for the release of her first novel, Enchanted Island, Author May Torres gives us an in-depth look at her inspiration, and what life is like as a new writer. Enchanted Island is due to be released late March 2010.

Visit http://touchepublishers.com for a chance to pre-order the book. Limited amounts available for the pre-order. Act soon, before it’s too late.

Touché Publishing: So, Ms. Torres, you’ve just completed your first novel, Enchanted Island, due to be released next month. We’re looking forward to that. I have to ask you, first of all, What inspired you to start writing?

May Torres: I was inspired to start writing on a more serious level, because I wanted to change the circumstances of my life. I run a home business and, I still wasn’t able to be totally comfortable, financially. I have two teenagers, and college is coming faster than I care to think about. I didn’t want to continue struggling. It’s not the thing I want my kids to remember the most. I want them to see that anything is possible, once you apply yourself.  My daughter was also getting heavily into reading. She was also a driving force in my writing. I wanted her to have something to read that she identified with. I’m hoping it inspires her to follow in my footsteps. In whatever path she chooses

Touche Publishing: Have you always wanted to be a writer?

May Torres: I have always enjoyed writing, I just never realized that I wanted to be a writer. It was just always a part of my life. My only problem came, when it was time to share what I wrote. It’s probably the reason I never pictured myself as a writer. I got over that eventually (laughs) . Better late than never.

Touche Publishing: As far as writing goes, who would you say you admire most, and why?

May Torres: Oh! I love Stephen King. He’s a master storyteller. I could only hope to have an ounce of his talent. His characters are so well crafted, you feel like you know them personally.

Touché Publishing: Let’s talk a little about Enchanted Island. Where did the concept for the story come from?

May Torres: From the beginning, I knew I wanted to write a story with a Latina heroine. It was very important to me, to have my Puerto Rican heritage spotlighted. That’s when I decided, that my story had to be about Puerto Rico. Once the other concepts,like karma and past lives came into play, I knew it had to include the history of Puerto Rico.

Touché Publishing: I did notice there were a lot of themes dealing with Karma and past lives in your book. It was one of the things I loved most about it. It made me wonder. Do you personally believe in past lives and Karma?

May Torres: Yes, I’m a firm believer in Karma. I try to live my life in away that will not incur negative Karma. As long as I keep my intentions pure, I believe I can shape the circumstances of my next life journey, should I have one. I believe that, there is something very real to the past life theory. I just believe that our energy never dies,and it has to go somewhere (smiles)

Touché Publishing: Being of Latin heritage, what personal significance does this book hold in your life?

May Torres: The Puerto Ricans, are such a proud people. I just wanted readers to partake in the culture of a nation other than, let’s say, Mexico. It seems that, whenever there’s a latino/hispanic presence in the main stream media, it’s centered around the Mexican culture. Don’t get me wrong, any exposure is better than none. It really means so much to me, to portray a different culture. Although, we’re all Latinos, there are differences. I hope, that I help to get other Latinos to bring forth their stories.

Touché Publishing: That would be great! I did notice there was a lot of culture and history in your book. In your research, were there parts that you found especially important or, perhaps even, shocking to you?

May Torres: When I was younger, I was taught in school, about Christopher Columbus discovering America. It wasn’t until I was older that I thought about the fact, that there were people already living here in America, for years. It was important for me to write about it, and provoke thought in our young people. I was shocked to find out about the horrendous practice of cutting the limbs of slaves, if they didn’t produce the correct amount of gold or cotton.

Touché Publishing: Yeah, I thought that was horrible. When I think about some of the situations in your book, like that one for instance, I wonder, was it very hard to write a book geared more towards teens and young adults?

May Torres: Writing a book geared towards the young adults was challenging, at times. I didn’t want to dumb the story down, yet didn’t want to get so complicated, that they put the book down. It was a balancing act all the way through. I wanted to make sure I included things that younger readers could relate to and, at the same time, keep parents satisfied with the content.

Touché Publishing: I know we touched on this before but, I see you dedicated your book to your children. How instrumental were they in your becoming a writer?

May Torres: I dedicated the book to my children because they really are the reason for me pushing myself to write. Like I said before, I want my kids to remember something other than struggle. I want them to be proud of their mother for believing in herself. It’s all that matters to me, that my children believe in themselves.

Touché Publishing: Seeing as how you did write for a younger audience, it stands to reason that you may serve as an inspiration for young writers, especially minorities. Do you have any advice for any aspiring writers out there?

May Torres: I mentioned earlier about believing in yourself. That is a must! Even when it feels like no one is supporting your dream, push ahead. Use the Law of Attraction as your guide. If you think it, it will manifest in the physical world. Envision yourself getting to the finish line. If you find it difficult to keep up with that train of thought, fake it, until you make it. What I mean by that is, behave as if you’ve already achieved your goal. It’s all about having
a positive attitude and outlook on life.

Touché Publishing: Thank you for sitting down and talking with me.  I’m really looking forward to your new release, and wish you much success on your future novels.

Leave a Reply

