Where Do We Draw The Line?


I work from home, so I spend a considerable amount of time on the internet. I search the web for tips on improving my life, both, personally and professionally. Therefore, I participate on the popular networking sites such as, Facebook and Twitter. I have an account for each of the aforementioned areas of my life. I do love the idea of being able to stay in touch with family and friends alike, who I don’t see very often. I interact with long-lost high school classmates and even old crushes. It sounds like such a great deal, on paper. It really should be, but there is one thing that just ruins it for me. Drama! Why on Earth do people, in their infinite wisdom, air their dirty laundry on Facebook? Who the hell wants to know that you’re having a spat with your significant other. Even worse, having that spat played out on status updates!  Can we say awkward! Apparently, not awkward enough for the individuals involved. I’ve had friends update me about their girlfriends passing gas, sex habits, how they like sex,how they are just about to go have sex,  how they just finished having sex, public disputes with a lover, how their lover doesn’t appreciate them because they didn’t text them, how much they hate their lives, etc. Everything I just mentioned is on any given day. Yes, I’ve accepted friend requests from these people. I had no idea what I was accepting. Am I wrong in thinking this is just too much? Should I be accepting everyone’s right to express themselves freely?  Where do we draw the line?

3 responses to “Where Do We Draw The Line?

  • laurelrainsnow

    Oh, I agree that many “status updates” are embarrassing at best and potentially dangerous at worst.

    Putting it all out there for everyone has its downside.

    I had one friend who posted about her bout with diarrhea…eww, TMI.

    • May Torres

      Now that is just plain awful!! In the age of cell phones, I have also gotten an earful of private conversations on a NYC bus. One woman was discussing her menstrual cycle. Just what you want to hear about during morning rush hour.

      • Jen

        Wow. That must have been the most uncomfortable bus ride, May!! lol Sorry you had to go through that. That is why I try and take the subway, no cell phones. For now…

Leave a Reply

