I Want You To Know…


In the last few days, traffic to my blog has increased. I’m excited and somewhat nervous :). All this time I’ve been writing about whatever came to my mind, be it, a rant or some tidbit about my book. Of course, I realized that this information was going out into cyberspace, for all the world to see. As long as there was only a few people trickling in, to read about what’s on my random mind, I was safe. Now that people are stopping by more frequently, it hit me. I’m inviting people into my world, and they’re actually coming in. Yikes! For those who know me personally, they know that I can be painfully shy, at first. I’m a very private person yet, here I am, putting myself out there in a very public way. Yeah, it baffles me too :D. Anyway, since I’ve invited you in, and you don’t seem to mind, here are some things I want you to know:

  • I was born and raised in New York City.
  • I’m a child of divorce raised by a single mom.
  • I’m what you call a Nuyorican.
  • I speak spanglish
  • I’m a single mom of an 18-year-old son, and a 16-year-old daughter
  • I love Alanis Morissette, I swear she’s my goddess(She even played God in the movie Dogma)
  • I’m a vegetarian(Not the preachy kind, to each his own)
  • I run a day care in my home(Yes, I’m crazy like that)
  • I love to travel
  • I love learning new things and meeting people of different backgrounds.
  • I’m stubborn(Hey blame my mother for conceiving me in August to be born in May, therefore, making me a Taurus)
  • I suffered with a bout of depression years back
  • My heart has been broken, one too many times, now I’m having a hard time putting it back together.
  • I’m currently struggling with weight loss issues
  • I’ve been known to be a funny little thing
  • Speaking of little thing, I’m 4 feet 9 inches tall(or short rather)
  • I’ve secretly always wanted to be daddy’s little girl. (He had to go and be insane. The nerve!)
  • I love bread. All kinds of bread!
  • twitterbackground
  • Do NOT laugh! I have an irrational fear, yes a phobia, of….BUTTERFLIES. (They terrify me)
  • I enjoy watching, yes, I really do, The Jersey Shore.(Guilty pleasure)

I suppose, for now, that’s all I want you to know.

10 responses to “I Want You To Know…

  • Draven Ames

    BUTTERFLIES! HAHAHA

    Did you know that was voted the ugliest word in the English language by foreigners? That is what I read, anyway. Something about the B and T.

    Great post. NYC huh? I love it there.

    Wow, you are short. Never had a clue.

    Draven Ames

  • Jen Ryan

    That butterfly thing kills me. Every time. Anyway, glad to see you are increasing your traffic!! What is your secret?!?! Do tell…

    • May Torres

      Yeah Jen, still have it lol. I need to find a cure for the phobia. It’s very embarrassing in the spring and summertime. My secret to getting more traffic is, I have no idea lol. I guess putting myself out there more and interacting with people has done it. Consistency too. Everyone reading this, pleassse please, please visit Jen’s blog. It’s a favorite of mine. UnseenNYC

  • laurelrainsnow

    I wouldn’t say I’m afraid of butterflies, but they do make me nervous; moths are the creatures that create that panic in me. Stemming from the time when I was a kid and they used to get into the house in the summertime, and then fly into our faces when we were least expecting it…Yikes!

    I once had a daycare center in my home when my youngest child was a baby. It drove me back to my regular career rather quickly! Not my thing, I’m afraid.

    • May Torres

      Moths! Ahhhh! They are hideous! I too am thinking I may have to find another career path. As I get older I think I’m becoming less patient. I love children. I always have. It makes me sad that I’m no longer passionate about it. The kids I have in my care now, drive me absolutely batty. I think it’s more of the parents not taking the time to discipline them. I’m a very stern person when it comes to children and I’m not used to unruly ones We’ll see what the future brings 🙂

  • ThirtyCreative

    I am glad I can learn a little bit about you on my first visit to your blog. I guess it is good timing.

  • Bethany

    Hello Miss May, sorry I laughed when I read you don’t like butterflies ,I have a butterfly garden. My favorite holidays are Halloween, I was Batgirl 2 years ago, I don’t know what I will be this year. I love my family an I love baking with Mommy, she lets me lick the spoons .I love to read an I got a trophy at school for it this year, I really like school. I make lots of arts and crafts, I’m making Barbie clothes now. I play on Mindcraft a computer game an I build things there, it’s fun. I have over 30 stuff animals an my favorite one has only 1 eye left, mommy will fix him. I love swimming. I love Rock an Kane. I want a dog for Christmas, I hope Santa brings me one. I could keep going but Mommy says I’m rambling lol an I like this Enchanted Game especially fact and fiction an when Mommy lets me tweet .Bye Miss May tweet soon ❤

    • May Torres

      I know it seems very silly to be afraid of butterflies. I laugh at myself all the time. Your mommy told me that we both like Halloween. It’s my favorite day! Besides my birthday. I’m so glad you told me all about yourself.

Leave a Reply

