My Guilty Pleasures…What Are Yours?


So, yeah. I have the same sob story you hear quite often today. Broke, single-parent trying to make it. That’s me. I am a child care provider by day. Wannabe best-selling author by night :). My days are spent with six children, ranging in age from 21 months to 4 years old.  My day starts at 7am and ends at 7pm. I do it all without an assistant. I have two children of my own to tend to, once my day job is over. That’s a full-time job in itself.

In between diaper changes and tantrums, I try to get on the internet and schmooze. It’s one of my favorite things to do because it puts me in touch with other adults. I work from home. So there’s no getting out of the office on my lunch break. I’m basically home all day with the little ones. So if you happen to engage me in online conversation, I thank you! 🙂 But anyway, I tell you this, because dealing with children all day is highly stressful. Throw a wacky personal life in the mix and it makes for a chaotic existence.

I’d say I have about two hours to myself a day, if that. Of course, there are those few hours I spend sleeping. But are we really going to count those? Sometimes I need a break from my reality. One where I don’t have to think,or  solve anyone else’s problem. That’s where guilty pleasures enter the equation. The following are quick fixes. Things I can enjoy without putting much thought or effort into.

Television! I dvr lots of shows and catch up on the weekend. When my brain hurts, I turn on the TV and escape for a bit. There are plenty of smart shows that I watch, but that’s not what this post is about. I don’t feel guilty about watching House, Criminal Minds, or Law & Order: SVU. I’m talking about shows like American Idol, Hell’s Kitchen, and yes, The Jersey Shore. The last of these being, the most guilty fun I’ll admit to having :D, while watching the boob tube. I’m well aware that I’m losing precious brain cells while sitting through this show. But by golly, I find it so entertaining. The kicker is, I have NO idea why! If you see me in a different light after this confession, eh, I think I can live with it :).

The cast of The Jersey Shore

 

Another show that falls under the guilty pleasure category is, Spartacus: Blood and Sand. I’m going to use text and instant message speak here, just because this show is so, O-M-G! The prequel to this show, and currently airing is, Spartacus: Gods of The Arena. This show is also O-M-G! After one episode of this show, you too, will feel guilty having watched. You may even decide to take a shower. A cold one! 😉

Music! I love all types of  music. I’m more inclined to listen to the singer/songwriter type artist. I love music the way I love my movies. Smart, with great dialogue, compelling me to think about it long after I’m done watching. Again, that’s not what this post is about :). When I’m feeling particularly drained, there’s Ke$ha and Katy Perry! Ke$ha, and her over-use of autotune, just lighten my spirits. My daughter says, “All her songs sound alike.” Yes, but they bring me to a happy place 🙂 Come on, admit it. You know you like Tik Tok! Katy Perry. Bless her girl-kissing heart. Her songs just put a pep in my step.  Just put yourself on autopilot and go. Firework and California Gurls. Oh! Sweet, guilty fun. That’s coming from a die-hard Alanis Morissette fan!

Ke$ha

Katy Perry

I’ve admitted to some of my guilty pleasures. what are yours?

12 responses to “My Guilty Pleasures…What Are Yours?

  • laurelrainsnow

    I think we have to take our pleasures where we can find them. For me, it’s schmaltzy movies on Lifetime; soap operas; and the occasional nauseating show like Tori and Dean. Yeah, like I said….

    I can relate to what you’re describing, having been a single parent. I did the day care thing for awhile, but it was while I was still married. I went back to my social work career, got divorced, and then did single-parenting while engaging in a very stressful job. Sometimes I didn’t feel like being “present” for the kids, after engaging with abusive parents and their abused children all day.

    Nowadays, I feel very lucky to be retired while still “young enough” (LOL) to follow my writing life.

    Writing and blogging feel like guilty pleasures these days!

    • May Torres

      Oh my goodness! Lifetime…what can I say? If you start watching one movie, you’re trapped! 🙂 It’s like you have to just watch the next movie. Then you tell yourself, that’s the last one. No! Four movies later and you’re still in your pajamas. It must be nice to be “young enough” and retired 🙂

  • Draven Ames

    Oh, I could never stand most of those shows. I already hear it all in the background. Fashion Police is playing in the background. Do you wonder why I write horror? Who could write anything else?

    Guilty pleasures? Reeces. Waffles. Watching the occasional basketball game. Guitar Hero or Mario with my kids.

  • Raul Colon

    I guess working from home and being that dad of 1 month old daughter I can relate a bit although I have some great help from my spouse.

    I have to agree my guilty pleasure is watching the Jersey Shore and Dog the Bounty Hunter..

  • Rebecca Treadway

    Before I pitched tv viewing – my not so guilty tv pleasure was Supernatural – just for Jensen Ackles, followed by America’s Next Top Model and Gossip Girl. It might not seem like a big deal, but I’m kind of this cross between Wednesday Addams and Janine Garafalo. My dour, Gothic friends were horrified. Online, I became addicted to a Korean drama called Chuno. Fortunately that one runs to its conclusion so I wasn’t left wondering what happened to General Choi and Wang Sun — both appeared to be dead in one episode, killed by the deadly and yet somehow sexy bad guy Hwang…and oh! You just have to watch it!

    • May Torres

      America’s Next Top Model is another one of my guilty pleasures! I’ve always wanted to watch Supernatural but I just never got around to it as well as Gossip Girl. Thank goodness for Netflix and entire seasons of shows on DVD. You have me curious about the Korean drama. I’m off to Google it. Thanks for stopping by!

  • Enchanted Summer Games First Event-100 Meter Sprint | Written by May Torres

    […] on this blog post with a few of your guilty pleasures.>>> My Guilty Pleasures = 10 […]

  • 88mphDeLorean

    My guiltiest pleasure would be romance novels. I can’t go as cheesy as harlequin (i need better sex than that) but i’ve always loved the little small paperbacks with the cheesy covers, even better when their historical romance novels (viscounts and vicars a la Rachel Greene) my favorite author is Susan Johnson, and imagine my surprise… when I discovered my Mother In Law loved them too, and loved Susan Johnson! (In fact, I sometimes wonder if she WAS Susan Johnson) I now have all of her old books, and will never ever get rid of any of them no matter how “unfashionable” they become 😀

  • coletta53

    Do I dare say? I do love getting out for a walk in the woods with my man. Nothing better than stumbling along behind those shoulders. See what I mean …http://www.squidoo.com/walking-in-my-shoes

Leave a Reply

