When Did Support Die?– Guest Post by Christine


As part of my Enchanted Summer Games, I gave the participants a chance to do a guest post on either one of my blogs. I’m happy to post the first entry now. It comes from a woman who I interact with on Twitter. We connected because of a mutual admiration of, The Great One, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson. She and her young daughter have been participating in my games daily. We’ve come to find out we have a hell of a lot of things in common. I’m enjoying getting to know her and her beautiful family. This is the reason I cooked up these games. It warms my heart when she tells me that competing in the games has brought her closer to her daughter through the friendly rivalry going on and time spent playing the games.  The participants were told that they could write about any topic they wanted. Yet this woman chose to make her blog post about me! She suffers with a medical condition and is a mother of two! And she finds time to show support for little old me. That’s something I take note of and will never forget. Now on to her post. 

When Did Support Die? by Christine

I joined Twitter ~3yrs. ago, all be it to follow Dwayne “Rock” Johnson, an to my surprise met quite a lot of people who took the same interest as me, not just “Rock” related ,but wrestling and reading. Through the years I have gained n lost a few followers, but “the best ones” Thank God have stayed around. I am ,with my daughter Bethany, playing a game hosted by a GR8 Follower..now better known Friend May Torres. She has written a book called Enchanted Island (which I am enjoying reading) an has come up with #EnchantedGames to allow her followers an friends to get to know her n each other better. It pisses me off with all the people on her list and mine that a handful play along. I ask WHY? ..The events are fun an the questions an tasks allow her to know you better and vice versa. It doesn’t take up all your time(as I am a Mom of 2 n go to rehab for my bone disease everyday).I am having a great time playing game n meeting new people but most of all learning MORE about May who I have been following for so long. I do understand that everyone’s life is busy, but 10 minutes of your day isn’t a lot to get to know more about your “friend” an give her support. Who knows one day you may need support an “word of mouth” to get your projects n dreams off the ground, yet your past actions might make it that much more TOUGHER. So I say Where is the support an not just pertaining to this but in life in general ?

**This is the daily post I mentioned above regarding the task of guest blogging today**

2 responses to “When Did Support Die?– Guest Post by Christine

  • entrebat

    Fair question.

    I know the answer, it isn’t pretty.

    Many folks are just out to get what they want without moving towards helping one another. Social media seems to be morphing into some kind of mish-mash of high school angst and class elitism.

    There are so many virtual gods that walk amongst us (celebrities, athletes, writers, musicians, etc.) that some folks just forget that without the fans/followers/friends who are out there, they wouldn’t be so popular.

    I know the work that goes into engaging new readers and friends. It’s not easy. Few know the dedication it takes to put on the brave face and carry on in the face of adversity.

    Kudos to you, May and to you, Christine for speaking from the heart on this.

    Cheers!

    • May Torres

      My gosh! Thanks for your reply! You get it…You really get it! Please keep in touch! I love making connections and I support fellow writers or anyone with a dream for that matter. Again, thanks for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

